FROM INDIA WITH LOVE: My Cultural Shocks: Episode 3


the ‘interesting’ things that are normal to the ordinary person in Baroda…

Oh cattle in Africa! What have you done to man, to deserve ‘manslaughter’ every now and then? In Baroda, cattle are found walking on streets freely. In fact, some homes have provided a small pantry in front of their houses for the cattle to pass by and eat each day.

They are regarded as holy; hence, they are not harmed or eaten. So you see this giant, fat cattle ‘bloughing’ on the road! You’ve got to stop for it to majestically cross the road! Whiles in other parts of the world, they are not even allowed to mature, and then customers would be pressuring butchers to sell ‘bones and the intestines’ to them.

Unfortunately, the cattle mess up the streets with their ‘shit’ and this really give out some ‘penetrating uncomfortable smell’ in some areas.

Spicy foods are the order of the day in India. When i say spices, i mean spices! Not the ‘spices’ that are use to prepare foods in Ghana or just ‘hot pepper’ as most western people might say.

I am talking of food that has up to 20 spices or perhaps, over that! In fact, it took me over an hour to eat just a ladle of ‘rice water’ and a very spicy stew during my early days India.

I really found it very difficult eating Indian foods in my first few days. Even now, it is not really easy for me to eat some typical Indian foods. I have resorted to eating from Chinese restaurants but not often because, foods sold there are a little bit expensive. ‘I have to save you know’

India is the home of diverse foods. Rice grains are used to prepare different types of food. In India, one of the commonest food is Chapati. Perhaps, it is eaten every day as lunch or with main food. I am not going to describe it, maybe you can search online, folks!

Hey! Where are my non veggies? May be, India may not be the appropriate place for you because majority of Indians are veggies. For example, i am not allowed to eat any meat product or food with meat in my current accommodation. If i want to eat it, then i have to do that in a restaurant.

This sometimes makes living there uncomfortable, if you are a choosy person; unlike me. For me, it is fun and a great platform to change my worldview. In AIESEC, we are trained to live diversity!

Written by Prince Baah-Duodu for: www.baahduodu.wordpress.com

Episode 4 is even better. Watch out!

3 thoughts on “FROM INDIA WITH LOVE: My Cultural Shocks: Episode 3

  1. Live diversity Prince! I can vividly remember my first meal of banku and waache in Ghana; was not too big a fan at the time, but you have to adapt.

    Cheers

  2. Hey Prince! I stumbled upon this by chance and have really enjoyed reading about all your experiences in India so far. Its great, keep it up!

  3. hey dude i felt same way the first time i had chapati and dal veg.i was gonna vomit but now i cant wait to have chapati again.may i alsp say this that if you will be travelling in india you will still have to taste a whole lot of meal so be prepared mate…..see you soon

Please Leave a Comment(below) or Subscribe by Email (top right). Thanks!

